Social Icons

Wednesday, October 31, 2012

43. Who was the first Muslim President of Indian National Congress?

(A) Badruddin Tyabji
(B) Moulana Abul Kalam Azad
(C) Hassan imam
(D) M.A. Ansari

Ans. (A) Badruddin Tyabji

Badruddin Tyabji was the first muslim president of Indian National Congress elected in its 1887 Madras session.

List of Muslims who became president of The Indian National Congress before Independence of India :

1. Badruddin Tyabji became President in 1887 INC Session - Madras

2. Rahimtulla M. Sayani became President in 1896 INC Session - Calcutta

3. Nawab Syed Muhammad Bahadur became President in 1913 INC Session - Karachi

4. Syed Hasan Imam became President in 1918 INC Special Session - Bombay

5. Hakim Ajmal Khan became President in 1921 INC Session - Ahamedabad

6. Maulana Mohammad Ali became President in 1923 INC Session - Cocanada (now Kakinada)

7. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad became President in 1923 INC Special Session - Delhi

**(Maulana Abul Kalam Azad again become President of The Indian National Congress in 1940 - INC Session - Ramgarh and he was the President of Indian National Congress until 1946, he was the only person who served as president of INC for 7 years (the longest period) before Independence.)**

8. Dr. Mukhtar Ahmed Ansari became President in 1927 INC Session - Madras

No comments:

Post a Comment